THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

14.12.10 . 7:42 pm

I dreamed that one drop of blood rolled out of my eye, like a teardrop, as we drove through the forest and watched the neon lights that hang in the branches, symbols I understood then and don't understand now, and as you dropped your arm from around my shoulders, i looked to you and you laughed and said, 'Did you think I'd abandoned you?' and returned it to where it had been. We watched lightning carved slowly into flesh, men signing in voices i couldn't understand, i held the boy as he cried, the offerer and the offering. I dreamed that i sat naked in the chapel of my mother's mansion, talking to dogs who talked back to me. Last night was the second night in three days I've been alone late at night, drunk and trying to walk home in London.

+ + + +