THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

31.12.09 . 11:24 pm

At this time, exactly one year ago, I was standing in the middle of the street, and the fog was so thick I could barely see my feet below me, and the christmas lights on all the houses shone through the fog like ghosts, red and green and blue, as if I was in something enclosed, something private

And it was absolutely silent except for the explosions down the street, and not one car drove past me, not one towards me,

And I stood in the fog in the middle of the street, exactly one year ago, waiting for something to happen, waiting for it to be real

I woke up that morning very violently and it felt as though something was being pulled up right out of the center of me, up into the air

I remember exactly what I was wearing, I remember exactly what I said

This time this year several hours ago, I stood outside watching the sky as it turned red and ever color seemed sharper every light seemed brighter, and something felt as if it was all electric, all real

I don't know what to make of this year, except I hope when I wake up in the morning, whatever was pulled up out of me is pulled right back in...

+ + + +