THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

25.11.08 . 1:47 am

This will be poorly worded, no matter what:

In my whole life, I have received two true things from teachers. Just two. Ever, in my whole life. Just two single times did any teachers ever tell me anything that was even remotely worthwhile or useful.

The first time, my tenth grade english teacher told me, in absolute seriousness, to drop out of high school and do something different.

The second time, my twelfth grade art teacher told me not to ever listen to anything that my family told me and to just do whatever I wanted.

These things are the most important because they are the most clearly ridiculous, and therefore the most true. And they are the most important because, in the fact that they were so absolutely ridiculous, they meant that those two teachers actually genuinely cared about what happened to me.

And if I have to hear one more fucking person tell me that I have to go to college and get a degree to have a good job when the entire world is full of people with jobs who didn't go to college or that I have to have a good job to own a house when the entire world is full of people who live in and own houses without good jobs or that I have do anything or be anything to have money or feel fulfilled, I'll tear my ears off. There aren't have tos, there are only ought tos. And just because I ought to doesn't mean it's the best way or the right way or even the easiest way.


This is obvious.

This is art school, and whenever I point out how absolutely blatantly ridiculous and deluded and narcissistic it all is, everyone seems to take some sort of offense.

All I really want is for someone to tell me to drop out of college and do whatever I want.

But I don't really need it, because I appear to be doing it anyway.

+ + + +