THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

06-07-05 . 9:42 pm

Okay, here's my expression of general disgust towards my guitar class:

So I'm being pretty gay and actually taking guitar lessons, right? Right. (You know, cause I'm gonna be a big giant rockstar and you're all gonna want to be my fucking best friend).

Okay, so there are only THREE PEOPLE IN MY CLASS. Three.

And I was also gone for three weeks.

And in three weeks, you know how much these people improved?!?!?!


NONE.

IN TEN WEEKS THEY COULD NOT EVEN MANAGE TO PLAY TO AN ACTUAL RHYTHM.

You know, it's really not rocket surgery (Sadly, I actually said that in all seriousness to someone....) to keep a steady rhythm for like two minutes. I mean come on folks, I bet even miss Ashlee Simpson could manage this.

But for god's sake.

They had us play 'boulevard of broken dreams' today, all together.

OH MY GOD.

If you decide that you are playing chords and I am playing riffs, do not play every single chord at a different speed and then look at me funny for not having the psychic ability to understand that your gonna play one really fast and the next one hardly at all, and then mess up my part.

People suck.


Oh, I'm putting together a Fosse version of Othello for a competition next Spring, I think.

We're studying Musical Americana right now, and they keep bringing him up. It's disgusting that these people don't even know who the hell Fosse is, but decide that they are incredibly superior to me in all things theatre.

I mean, so my situation is a little different.

I am not typical drama geek.

I hate watching plays. I hate acting. I think that every play Cameron Makintosh brought over was a peice of shit. I really, really hate show tunes.

But I'm a director, people. And the DTASC scenes that I throw together (according to judges, reviews etc) are far superior to yours.

When I'm putting together four monologues about supression of women in society throughout cultures, race, and time, you're doing a scene from Mean Girls.

I mean, come on.

So my next venture is to put major elements of Fosse's work into classical theatre and make it work.

And it will.

Trust me.

+ + + +