THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

01-08-05 . 11:20 pm

So I actually forked up fifteen bucks and bought an actual copy of Sing the Sorrow.

I know, I know. All that bitching and I didn't even own a solid copy.

But let me tell you something- listening to it the whole way through, I still don't get what the big deal about it is.

Because the only difference between this one and the other ones is a whole lot of cash- and it really, really shows.

Same writing, same guitars, same metaphors.

Artists, medium regardless, always- always- have a set of surefire metaphores and images they repeat.

And, holy fuck- three records and an ep along, I'm still hearing the same thing.

I own six AFI albums. This is not the one to buy- especially if you want some goth-punk masterpeice. I mean, really- It's good. But Black Sails steamrollers it in a second.

I don't know...I'm still waiting for the hype to die off a little. Somehow...I don't think it really will though. Cults are hard to erase.

Oh well....And did I mention that Davey seems to have developed the ability to sound exactly like my ancient, blind, smelly cat?

I mean really- he could totally pass for her with some of his "Oh!"'s.

Maybe if he gets a sore throat or something he can just take her with him on tour and squeeze her really hard every time they come to an "Oh!"

God, whatever just happened to singing about cereal and Quinton Terentino movies??

+ + + +