THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

11-03-04 . 5:02 pm

I feel compelled, as I'm sure many of you have expected, to write my own warped opinion on today's traged- I mean, presidential election. Mostly because that is primarily what this diary is known for...

And, first off, I'm angry as fucking hell.

(You knew that)

And, you know what? It's not so much anger at the ominous concept of Dumbass being in office and slowly killing us all for the next four fucking years, but because this is the world that I have to grow up in.

And that pisses me off.

I'm mad because my entire existance as a young adult is going to be spent waiting for it to be over.

And even when this shit's over, it won't be.

This is what I'll carry with me my whole life. I'll be left with this big fucking scar that this Idiot's mess left me with.

I'm mad because younger kids- this is what they're going to have live with. That they're going to grow up watching the news, and have it be news like this.

This is as bullshit as it comes, but I can see good coming out of it.

Now, before you go and erase me from your buddylists, let me tell you something:

Today, as I walked into every class room, where there are normally heated debates about whether CHad Michael Murray was hotter than Adam Brody, girls were talking about politics.

And that, my friends, is the change we could have used a few months ago.

It's everything groups like Punk Voter have been working for come one fucking day too late.

Better late than never.

And, speaking of Punk Voter, I had it bashed to my face three times today!

Yeah, I don't really know how it came about, but now this has happened, (Funny, I just thought of it as The Tragic Events of November the Second...Ha ha ha....I like that....), I seem to have "PUNK ROCK" written across my forehead.

And apperantly only me too. (I can't decide whether or not I like the fact...)

I mean, people who I have never talked to bashed it in front of me.

People who I DON'T KNOW.

And, while I do support a lot of what Punk Voter does, I don't care.

They accused me of being one of the "little punkers" who learned everything she knew about politics from Justin Sane.

Bullshit.

Bullshit and I know it, and I made sure they did too.

This is what I expected, and I'm still mad, but I've got hope. Which is something we're gonna need more than anything, I'll tell you that right now.

Nothing's going to get better, but, being the obsessee I am, this is the beginning of something new for punk rock, something new for everyone I think. And in the people I know, I'm beginning to see the death of apathy.

And while this is very refreshing, and welcomed- I only blame remarkably bad timing.

+ + + +