THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

10-02-04 . 5:55 pm

you are such a stupip ass prep, never take my quiz
again you poser


r u punk or goth
brought to you by Quizilla

You know, I was having such a lame-ass emo day. I really was.

Just wallowing in my own flaws and imperfections.

So then I put on The Transplants.

Yeah, good choice, huh?

But, turns out, it really was.

Because even though I listen to less and less of it lately, I still hold the whole 'punk' thing really close to heart. You know, it still means a lot to me.

Which, I think, is why it always frustrated me so much...

You know, cause for me, music like that....It wasn't about being a bad ass and it wasn't about shoving goddamn spikes and pins all over your fucking clothing. About 'making a statement'. It was never about anarchy-'fuck the system'.

It was always just about being able to recognize what was important and what wasn't.

It was about just accepting that you were good at some things and you weren't at others.

So, yeah. I don't know. I keep seeing more and more shit lately. I guess I just stopped paying attention for awhile.

For something that leads a lot of people down the wrong roads, it really did me a lot of good.

I guess that's the one thing adult type people have never understood. Or at least the ones who need to.

Because for every bad thing that's happened, you're more than likely to walk out a better person than you were before.

It's like school, right. Seeing what kids could do to themselves...How they could fuck everything up....

It made it so I wouldn't ever do that. It didn't influence me for the worse. It influenced me for the better.

And if, for once, someone could actually sit and listen without asking any fucking questions and stop thinking about themselves, maybe they could hear me out.

Because I'm not going to go cut myself up and drug myself stupid. You just never seem to hear that part.

And you know why? Because that's another thing that music showed me.

It showed me that I'm fucking lucky. That I have NO reason to complain.

But, hey, like I said. No one's listening anyway.

You know, that's the one reason my parents didn't want me to go to public school.

Because they seem to get the idea that I have so little dignity or self control that I would just jump at the first chance to fuck everything up.

I hate myself enough already. There's no chance in hell I'm going to make it any worse.

+ + + +