THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

07-24-04 . 3:46 pm

And today, my friends, I am going to give you a big lesson on how a band can change in the process of three or four years.

And how remarkably funny it is when they do.

For your daily dose of irony, here are the lyrics to a song that I am particularly fond of. And just try and guess what band put it on their album. Which very, very popular singer sang it.

Just fucking guess.

So here you go.

Cereal Wars

Get up in the morning, going to the store/Post, Kellogs, General Mills?/It's a Cereal War!/Fucking store never has the monsters and they never get more/ Post, Kellogs, General Mills?/It's the Cereal War./I hope sexual chocolate is in stock/It's got a condom in the box/I'll try some cocoa puffs today/ Who the fuck is Sonny anyway?/Some say Dino's are the best, they've got more marshmellows than the rest/ There's not a whole lot of cocoa in Cocoa Krispies/ And always stay away from Wheaties/ Now it's dinner time and I'm going back to the store/ I had someErkles, liked them a lot/ It's a cereal war/ I wish I were Calvin or Hobbs, then I could try some Sugar Bombs/ The soggies will never get Cap'n'Crunch, I guess I'll have Crunch Berries for lunch/Breakfast Cereals need to be sweet/ That's the only kind I'll eat/ Give me sugar not nuts and twigs/ Do I look like a fucking squirrel to you?

So. Have you guessed yet?

Can you imagine who sang that little deep, emotional masterpeice.

I will tell you.

Davey Havok.

Oh yes. Mr. King-Goth-Punk-Who-Makes-Girls-Swoon-With-his-Feminine hairstyles.

I would just love to see him sing that now. In front of all the kids who picked up a copy of Sing the Sorrow and fell completely in love with him.

It would be like watching Dashboard Confessional doing a Casualties cover. Or vice versa.

What? Davey? Singing? About....Cereal?

And that, is exactly why Answer That and Stay Fashionable is one of the best albums ever.

And certainly the best one by A.F.I.

Ahhh...Irony.

+ + + +