THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

05-16-04 . 5:45 pm

Woah.

Okay, I guess I remeber now why I don't watch TV.

(Because it's stupid).

Well, I was intensely bored and slipping into my mental vegetable state because I had drama rehersal (A-FUCKING-GAIN!) and it ran waaaaaaaay over.

So I was watching Vh1 because neither Law and Order or the Crime Channel were playing (yeah, don't ask). And they were playing the 50 worst songs.

Holy shit.

For this one song: the whole world can just be glad that I was a mere child, unaware of pop culture (not like I really am now), when it came out.

I only saw about thiry seconds of this music video. And I could have absolutely screamed.

When we all thought Avril Lavigne was posing as something she so very obviously was not, apperantly we all forgot about this little music video. It was so fucking disgusting.

Here is a breif overview:

1. Three guys covered in tattoos and peircings

2. They compare their relationship with their girlfriends to that of Sid and Nancy.

((Which is laughable at the very least...And only proof of extreme ignorance as they said it, I assume, in a slightly positive way...Which isf an oxymoron in my book))

3. They all had this big ass black fenders. (Which is funny because they never really even played....just sort of jumped around with them)

4. At their "show" there were all these kids in Misfits shirts.

Yeah, but here's the best part"

5. The whole time, THEY WERE FUCKING RAPPING ABOUT BUTTERFLIES.

What the fuck????????????

Could you take absolute dress-up and faux-punk to any more of an extreme level.

They made Good Charlotte seem hardcore.

Which is a serious feat.

Butterflies?

Rap?

Where do people get off on shit like that?

I can just picture their manager: Holy shit. They are rapping about butterflies...must get some edge. Hmmmmm....How about we get them completely covered in tatoos and have them hold instruments...And let's make the kids in the concert scene wearing Misfits shirts....

Pul-ease.

It was personally insulting. Nearly. I mean, I like the Misfits. And the likelihood of someone who would wear one of their shirts listening to rap (about butterflies) is like zilch.

Well, maybe not. Because I know a lot of idiots who would do that...And they would probably mention Sid and Nancy like it was a good thing too...

But that doesn't make it any better.

It makes it worse.

But the song itself was such utter crap. It was sad. (And kinda funny).

I think if I had seen it when it actually came out (and Vh1, being the fabulous commercial station that it is didn't even fucking say when it was put out) I would first have screamed. And then just laughed. Because so many people would have bought into it.

Now it just sort of leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

+ + + +