THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

04-30-06 . 8:55 pm

Yesterday made history in life of Elizabeth Hamilton. And when we're talking about firsts, I don't think you find weirder firsts.

It was- And I lie not- the first time I was actually speechless in front of a member of the opposite sex.

Well. For a second. Then I ran into a hallway and called Alix and made her come out with me. Where she was also speechless.

And then I showed Jordan and her only imput was "God that's like... E= MC (hip thrusting)" Which was, despite obvious vulgarity/Ninja Humor, an entirely adequate description of the situation.

We had to stalk him for hours.

It was kind of sad, but man.

Well, let me back-track a second. So, back in a previous life, me and Alix and Liesa were in this play "The Homecoming"- Which is The Waltons, but with a different name and it's Clayboy instead of Johnboy. I played this crazy bootlegger and Alix was Patticake and just yelled "Mama! Mama!" a lot and Liesa played a boy [insert witty remark explaining lack of irony], and there was this kid named Michael (And I don't think I can spell his last name, but it's pronounced Ish-Kay-Nee-Yan) who played Clayboy.

And, you know, he was pretty nice and whatever. Liesa was all in love with him [insert similar remark about lack of irony]. Really kind of geeky and short- But funny in his own weird kind of way. Two years older than all of us.

And I saw him at a couple DTASC's- Never in the same category as I was, but I'd always stop and say hi. You know, same old same old drama-kid to drama-kid distant relation.

So then yesterday was DTASC A/B Divison held at St. Ho's. And, you know, there was all the craziness of hosting etc, and I was taking my own group into B Divison Supernaturals and sitting through rounds and then helping out during downtime in my attractive orange t-shirt, along with Alix (who was getting community service hours) and Angeline and Pam (who were trying to raise money for the percussion band).

And I'm sitting out on the stage we set up on the field with Dan and Mr. B. and Sarah Spate and Mara and Fiona and Jordan and Melissa and everyone, watching middle school students dance badly to show tunes DJ'ed by Charlotte (Yeah. Haha. Ew. Props for playing my favorite- and only favorite- Show tune though. "Skid Row" from Little Shop of Horrors).

And I see Mrs. Barryte (ex-director) who, as per usual, behaved incredibly stranger and responded to me waving and Mr. B. saying "Oh, Lizz is so great. We love her here" with a very strange "Yes... She went to Dodson..." and then walking the otehr direction. And this is where I cue in long sob story about how she made a cast of eighty almost commit mass suicide etc etc etc.

And, anyway, so sidetracked I see her son and figure out we're kind of in the middle of the PV Penninsula camp.

Fair enough. You know, whatever, lots of rich, pretentious drama kids.

But then.

I swear, I almost keeled over.

Right there- Like six feet from me and Jordan and Becca and Lisa- is who else but Michael Ishkanian (sp).

Except, you know, taller than I am and fucking gorgeous. Like, in a kind of incredibly pale, black hair, button shirt, glasses, and sensible shoes kind of way, but it left me kind of kjdsgfadkjsgf.

Who knew two years of highschool... And...

I immediately went "Oh my god! It's... With the... Oh my god!" and ran into a hallway and called Alix. Her reaction was... Well, exactly the same. And...

I don't know. I can't even explain it. I can't tell if it was just because he was someone who we'd known in the past or because he was suddenly so... djgfjdsfga. Because he'd kind of all we talked about the whole rest of the day. And she and Angeline pushed the concessions cart around all day just so they could walk back and forth in front of the PV camp.

He recognized me, too, which was the weird part.

When I was down on the floor of the gym before the awards assembly. And we were trying to set shit up and, consequently performing bits of Much Ado and The Reduced Shakespeare Company and the As Of Yet Unwritten Eunuch Musical.

And I had to tell her where he was sitting so she could see(Because, no lie, all of the Ninjas who may actually be some of the pickiest people when it comes to members of the opposite gender were completely enamored with him), and we looked up and he was TOTALLY pointing to me and her and whispering something to his friend.

So unless it was "What the HELL are those bitches in orange doing?" (which seems unlikely, if only because I actually know him... Knew him), I'm guessing it was a "Hey, I used to go to school with her..."

Worst parts?

1. Didn't have my camera.
2. No one ELSE had their cameras.
3. He's GRADUATING and therefore, will be at NO MORE FESTIVALS.
4. He was with a girl.

We're figuring all of these things can be overcome, however.

I feel some scheming coming on.

But, yeah, anyway, back to the very beginning of my speil- When was the last time I did this... About a boy?

Ever?

+ + + +