THOSE WHO SUFFER LOVE

05-12-04 . 10:50 pm

Well, my hands have calmed down a bit enough to actually type this (see previous entry).

Today was...Well. I was at school.

So thus it was lame and boring.

It was kinda funny though- in homeroom, we were supposed to vote for what songs we wanted for some dance.

Ha fucking ha. As if I would even go to a dance.

Anyway. There were about twenty songs.

NAD I HAD NEVER HEARD OF ANY OF THEM.

And I was the only one.

Every single other person was going "Ohmigawd. I looooooooove that song."

I assume that most of it was just rap and stuff. I suppose that would be why I had never even heard of the people playing- well singing (as if they could even play an instrument) these stupid songs.

I told the guy next to me that I had never even heard OF any of these songs, let alone actually listened to them.

He just fucking stared at me. And then after a while goes "How is that possible?"

How is that possible?

Possible?

What the fuck?

Well, my ignorant friend, I happen to be one of the rare few at this pathetic hell hole of an educational establishment that doesn't even have a radio on her stereo because all the stations around here are complete bullshit and I do not support MTV.

In fact, I am completely against MTV.

So then he asked me what I DID listen to.

Except he said it as if he thought that really I just lived under a rock and wouldn't have known decent music if it slapped me in the face.

This is where it got kinda tough.

When describing something to my peers, I am always very lenient with my catergorizing.

Because unless you really do know what I'm talking about, it's not gonna make any sense.

You know, I can't go up and say "Oh well, lately I have been getting into some political ska-punk from the early eighties that vaguely resembles the works of 2Tone Label artists like The Special AKAs and The Higsons, but also reflects songs from The Clash."

Because they would just sit there drooling at you or something.

And you can't say "Oh. I listen to punk, pop punk, ska,a little bit of emo, a little bit of grunge, and a little bit of plain ol' rock."

Because then the only word they will have heard is punk and will look at you and assume you're a fucking loser.

Because you're wearing jeans, a Finch shirt, and hightops with holes in them.

Not that I would actually care if people thought I was a loser.

Well. Most of them do anyway.

So I just said that I was listening to a lot of Anti-Government music at the moment.

And,a s I highly doubt they actually knew what I meant by that, I guess I'm safe.

But it's moments like those that really piss me off.

I hate it when people ask you what kind of music you listen to.

Because they alsways take it the wrong way.

So if you ignore the actual question and just say who your favorite bands are, it makes things so much fucking easier.

So. That was my not-actually-very-angry-about-it rant of the day...

I guess it really wasn't particualarly fascinating.

But give me a brake. I can't even hold a fucking pencil right now.

+ + + +